It seems that the time has come. The album that all the fans of heavy metal music have been waiting for so long is finally here! What the hell am I talking about??? But of course for the Masterplan's debut album! Masterplan for those who may wonder who are they is the band that the guitarist Roland Grapow (ex-Helloween) and the drummer Uli Kusch (ex-Helloween) formed with the help of the bassist Jan. S. Eckert (ex-Iron Savior), the keyboarder Axel Mackenroot and the super singer Jorn Lande (Millenium, ex-Ark). That's a really impressive line up! Well, I don't think that anyone should have any doubts about the capabilities of each member of the band and especially about the songs that they can write.

I honesty don't know from where to start! Those guys released a superb album that I was longing for such a long time. Heavy metal to the bone! I really had a long time to listen to a heavy metal album that has many and impressive hard rock and power metal elements. Every song is just better from the other. Masterplan show how metal music can be sensitive fast, slow, true, dark, raw, aggressive, epic, and at least atmospheric at the same time! It's so incredible how these guys managed to release such a damn good debut album. So, for all those who didn't believe that Roland and Uli could do something truly good, this album is the answer. The album has a great variety from song to song and all the heavy metal fans will love it. I know that's really hard to refer to some songs cause I will be unjustly to the ones that I'll leave behind. But If I was under the gun I would choose the hymn "Kind Hearted Light", the unique Lande's duet with Kiske "Heroes", the heavy "Crystal Night", the mysterious mid-tempo "Soulburn" and I left for the end the incredible and melodic "When Love Comes Close".

As I told you before all the songs of this album are great. Also the production of the album is crystal clear and for sure it helps the whole superb result. I believe that is useless to say how really good each member plays, but I will refer to Jorn's unique voice cause he is one of my all time favorites singers! The tinge of Jorn's voice is something unbelievable and of course the songs have become much better than they would have been without him. This guy is one of its kind! I consider him as one of the three top singers of our time! The truth is that I can write many more things about this terrific album, but I know that it is better for you to buy it, so that you can have the chance to feel it and enjoy it with all your senses. This Plan is beyond doubt, a Master one!

Release Date: 
January 20th, 2003

by Thanos Aggelakis 9,5/10


       Jorn Lande – Vocals
Roland Grapow - Guitar 
Uli Kusch – Drums 
Jan. S. Eckert – Bass
Axel Mackenroot - Keys




1. Spirit Never Die
2. Enlighten Me
3. Kind Hearted Light
4. Crystal Night
5. Soulburn
6. Heroes
7. Sail On
8. Into The Light
9. Crawling From Hell
10. Bleeding Eyes
11. When Love Comes Close